Drafting Problems

Of the few books I’ve read so far on writing, I’ve seen the suggestion to sit and write for a certain amount of time each day or to write a number of pages a day –even one page a day makes a book in a year (paraphrased).  While spending this time daily, I should just worry about getting ‘the ink on the page’ and worry about cleaning it up later.  My problem with this type of first/rough draft is that I’m very conscious of types as I type.  I also have a difficult time putting down and leaving part of a scene or dialogue that I don’t feel is quite right.  I spend a lot of time worrying over all the details as I’m putting the story down in what should be a first draft.  My ‘first draft’ becomes, effectively, more of a first revision.  While that may not be the worst thing in the world, it does make for a drawn out process for getting the story written.  I’m working on getting past this.  As I start taking too long on a scene, I start telling myself to just get something down and continue on.  I don’t listen to myself enough, though.  I do recognize when I need to do this, so I’m hopeful that I’ll eventually get better at forging ahead and doing revision later… after I’ve gotten the whole story down.

Leave a Reply

