“If you see it, darling, then it’s there.” -a quote by Freddie Mercury

“People are always asking me what my lyrics mean. Well I say what any decent poet would say if you dared ask him to analyse his work: if you see it, darling, then it`s there.” – Freddie Mercury

Aside from the fact that I don’t have any poems and/or stories published, much less songs, where people are asking me about their meaning, I totally get where Freddie is coming from. It gets to the same point that Seal made in the CD jacket/liner notes where he said he wouldn’t post his lyrics because, if someone hears the words differently than he sang them, the words they hear must have meaning to them… or something along those lines. I get it. I really do… and Freddie said it perfectly.
One thought on ““If you see it, darling, then it’s there.” -a quote by Freddie Mercury

Leave a Reply

