Poem: From Whence I Came

Poem created in response to Robert Lee Brewer’s 2011 April PAD Challenge: Day 1, 1 Apr 2011.

From Whence I Came

From how I get there to what I do for work
with luck, these lines will elicit a smirk.
From the van to my cube, I got there by shoe,
stepping deftly around the nasty goose poo.
From my house to work, I cruised down the street,
avoiding poor drivers I’d love to see beat.
From college to here, the Web’s been my job’s turf.
Be safe on the Web, but please enjoy the surf.

From where I am now, we go back through the years
and see those who I love, laughed with, and shed tears.
From the instant we met, my soul sensed its twin
With my love by my side, there’s no fight I can’t win.
From before I could walk ’til I met my wife
my mom, dad and brother helped shape my life.
From post to post, home was where dad hung his hat
The world was my backyard, I’m an Army Brat!

Leave a Reply

