Poem: Mi Amigo, Jose

Poem created in response to Robert Lee Brewer’s 2011 April PAD Challenge: Day 10, 10 Apr 2011.

Mi Amigo, Jose

Jose and I used to hang out,
chillaxin’ on the weekends,
listening to good music,
having a few drinks
with other good friends
like Jim and Jack,
and the rare visit by
one of the Glens.
Like all good friends,
Jose and I had our spats,
some more serious than others.
One night, years ago,
I’d had enough of my friends,
but Jose just wouldn’t
leave me alone. I’d had
all I could take. It
got so ugly that I can’t
tolerate his presence
or that of his kin and we’ll
never drink together again.

**One of these days I’ll get out of this lazy, free verse style and put a little more form to some of these.

Leave a Reply

