“…it was a beginning”: An excerpt from The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

I have just started re-reading The Eye of the World, the first book in Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series…for about the fourth time.  The reason for this re-read, aside from being an incredible story, is that the final book in the series, A Memory of Light is slated for release in January of 2013.  Including the prequel, the series span fifteen books, once A Memory of Light is published.  I’m not re-reading “New Spring” (the prequel) this time, so I’m estimating that I should be able to finish the thirteen books leading up to A Memory of Light just before it is released roughly nine months from now.

As I begin the re-read, I’m once again faced with the two sentences that start every opening paragraph* of the books in The Wheel of Time series.  Why open every book with these two lines?  Simple.  In just those two lines, the overall theme of the series is laid out.

The Wheel of Time turns, and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades into myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth comes again.

The paragraph continues as follows:

In one Age, called the Third Age by some, and Age yet to come, an Age long past, a wind rose in the Mountains of Mist.  The wind was not the beginning.  There are neither beginnings nor endings to the turning of the Wheel of Time.  But it was a beginning.

A brief following of the wind then leads you to one of the stories main characters as he and his father journey along a road, the wind whipping at their cloaks.  I love the reinforcement of the all things have been before and shall come to pass again concept with the phrases “The wind was not the beginning” and “it was a beginning.”  Fantastic!

It’s much like my reading of this series:  This is not the beginning, but it is a beginning.

*Every Chapter 1, not the prologues

4 thoughts on ““…it was a beginning”: An excerpt from The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

  1. Sonia Lal July 29, 2013 / 18:49

    I am starting this series again. Should be fun.

    • lorwynd July 29, 2013 / 19:24

      It’s my favorite series. Each time I read it I find something I didn’t remember or that I missed before.

Leave a Reply

