Poem-A-Day Chapbook Challenge 2012

It’s time again for the Annual Writer’s Digest Poem-A-Day (PAD) Chapbook Challenge hosted by Robert Lee Brewer on the Poetic Asides blog at http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/poetic-asides.   Last year I completed the poeming part, but took waaaaaay too long in figuring out which poems I wanted to include in the chapbook, letting the deadline for submission pass me by.  Hopefully, this year, I’ll get the poems and the chapbook completed and submitted.
 
I’ve mentioned before [in previous posts] that I find myself to be more creative when I focus my energies on creating ‘formed’ poems.  For instance, the summary of my poems from this years PAD challenge back in April yielded the following stats:

Forms Used

Fibonacci: 1
haiku: 1
lune: 10
shadorma: 15
tanka: 5 (+2)
triolet: 2
unformed/free verse: 4

It will be interesting to see how the stats for the two PAD challenges in 2012 compare.  Game on!  Time to get poeming…

 

Leave a Reply

