A Memory of Light – One Book, One Month Away

A Memory of Light coverIn just under a month, A Memory of Light, the long-awaited final book in the fourteen book series, The Wheel of Time, will hit store shelves and arrive in the hands of hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of eager fans.  I will be one of those fans.  I have been reading this series since I picked up a copy of The Eye of the World back in 1990.  Yes, it has been a long journey…and this year has been a fantastic re-read of this series.  Tonight, I will finish The Gathering Storm and move on to Towers of Midnight.  Both of these books were written/co-written by Brandon Sanderson and he’s done a masterful job finishing the work of the late Robert Jordan.  Towers of Midnight is one of the longer books in the series, but I have almost a month to complete it in time to seamlessly move on to the capstone, A Memory of Light.

Knowing the end of the series is near is bittersweet.  It will be amazing to finally know how the story ends, or begins, because there are no beginnings or endings to the turning of the Wheel of Time, but it will be an ending for Rand, Mat, and Perrin, reluctant though they may have been to have been the center of the Wheel’s pattern, no more no more watching as Egwene, Elayne, and Aviendha grow into the strong leaders they were destined to become, no more trollocs, no more Forsaken…no more…  Yes, it is a bit sad to see it end.  I’ve been reading this longer than my wife and I have been married, longer than my girls are old.  I know these characters better than I know most people, which, I suppose, isn’t that terribly difficult to believe when you’re a bit of an introvert.

Anyway, I’m one book and one month away from the final book…If you haven’t given the series a read, it’s a good time to start.

Leave a Reply

