BookBlogWriMo – Days Fifteen, Sixteen, Seventeen, Eighteen

BookBlogWriMo.  Book Blog Writing Month.  Created by “Book Bumblings” as a book bloggers’ version of NaNoWriMo.  I found it through “Shattered Hearts Reviews“.

Day Fifteen – Favorite Book Blogging Things

The Books, of course.  I love to read.  I like helping others, teaching others, giving great recommendations to others.  While I don’t necessarily categorize myself as a “book blogger”, I like to think that someone will read my review of a book and find their next favorite book or avoid reading a piece of crap.  I also like the occasional back and forth in blog comments about why a book was good or not.

Day Sixteen – Least Favorite Book Blogging Things

Finding/making the time to do it.  I think I’ve already established my super-slackerness.

Day Seventeen – Favorite Book Tropes

While I really like deep, multi-dimensional characters, I am also quite fond of the stereotypes.  I love a good fantasy with the haughty, law-abiding paladin, the sneaky rogue that the party doesn’t even know if they can trust, the bumbling gnome, the mighty moronic barbarian, the in-fighting between elves and dwarves, the wizard who can devastate and entire village with one fireball, but can’t fight off a kitchen rat.  In the horror, realm, I still love a good classic vampire story where they are burned by sunlight, can be kept at bay by crosses, and the older vamps are always more powerful than the younger ones.  I have no beef with the “our planet is dying, let’s take theirs” plot, or the search for a new Earth, or the “bug hunt” on one’s own ship.  Of course, I don’t mind when stories branch out and try to make their own mark, or create their own interpretation of classics, either…as long as the characters are well-written and the story is good.

Day Eighteen – Favorite Subgenres

Fantasy – Pretty much any subgenre, including high, teen, urban, paranormal romance.

Horror – Mostly by author:  Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Dan Simmons, George R. R. Martin, Poe.

Sci-Fi – Not the hard core sci-fi that gets into the weeds of how all the engines, drives, weapons, and such work.  I don’t care about all that, I just want the characters and story to be good…like those of Robert Heinlein.

Poetry – Keats, Frost, Wojtanik (if you don’t know his work, you should check out his latest collection: Dead Poet…Once Removed).

Self-improvement – Fiction and poetry writing, leadership, management, motivation.

 

Leave a Reply

